Tribute: Nujabes – Rest in Beats

 

瀬葉淳

(Seba Jun)

February 7, 1974 – February 26, 2010


Now it might seem distant but the time is near
When our thoughts take off and split the atmosphere
Pure sound wave travel semi-infinitely
Plus I’ll see you there utmost definitely

-luv (sic)

Seba Jun, more well known as Nujabes (a reverse spelling of his name) was a DJ, composer, arranger and Japanese hip-hop producer from Tokyo. His music mainly involved hip-hop and cool jazz, and he has worked with several other artists such as Minmi and Substantial. Nujabes was also one of the most prolific contributors to the music in Samurai Champloo.

On the 26th of February 2010, Seba Jun was involved in a fatal traffic accident exiting the Shuto Expressway late at night. He passed away in the hospital after efforts to revive him failed.

He was 36 years old.

A private funeral only attended by his family was held in Shimeyaka. Only close family and friends were aware of his passing – being an extremely private person, even people who had worked with him had been unaware of his death until it was announced publicly by Hydeout Productions about a month after. His death was confirmed by Shing02, one of the rappers that had worked with him previously.

… I had been leaving him messages the past couple of weeks, trying to get in the studio together, so the news could not have come any more unexpected. Even last week, I passed by his house and called him thinking he was still home.

-Shing02

It’s been a year since then, and I’d like to give tribute to him here on Manga Weekend. Hence, for the next 24 hours on the 26th of February(JST) this tribute will be the home post.

I was introduced to Nujabes after watching Samurai Champloo. I honestly don’t consider myself someone who has the most reliable taste in music – but when it comes to Nujabes I have the unshakable belief that his talent is exceptionally epic. There is just something in the magic that he creates that has always strummed my soul. For me, his music isn’t just fancy sounds put together. There is a sort of nostalgic, calm and gentle life that he somehow inscribes into music that I feel affects me the way another real, organic living matter can.

Like a life that exists only through sound – through music.

Nujabes is, hands down, my favourite musician (and for some reason, the word ‘musician’ just doesn’t seem to suffice in describing him). My whole life I’ve listened to music, but there has never, ever been anything that has affected me the way his has. He doesn’t make his music and neither does he compose it –I feel like he creates it.

I’m gonna curl up and listen to my Nujabes playlist for the rest of the day now.

Rest in Beats, Nujabes

 

Nujabes died because God needed a dj

-BeefyEggRoll, YouTube

 

-arawr =’3

3 Comments

Filed under Anime Related, Featured, Music, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tribute: Nujabes – Rest in Beats

  1. emysan83

    That’s too bad. He will be sorely missed.

  2. meltedpoo

    Oh! I see what you mean!
    After reading this post, I tried listening to some of his music and wow…It’s beautiful, for lack of better word.
    I think what I like best are the instrumentals. It’s so…unique.
    I can’t say I’ll ever be as inspired by him as you were but he has talent. Real talent.

  3. nick

    he should inspire all of us to do something with our lives…hes gone but no one will ever forget him. i look up 2 him as a legend.

Leave a Reply

