One-Shot for the Weekend: Happy Every Day

Manga-ka: Sakuraba Yui

Genre: One Shot, Romance, Shoujo

Megumi doesn’t mind working at her part-time job as a convenience store cashier every day if it means that she gets to see one special customer: her prince. But if she wants him to notice her, she’ll first have to summon up the courage to actually talk to him.

Published as a one-shot in The Margaret in 2009.

——-

Arawr just left the task of this weekend’s oneshot to me so I haven’t really prepared anything. I haven’t been reading a lot these few weeks, I’ve just been taking my Lala DX 3 everywhere so I can flip through it when I’m bored. As for this weekend’s one-shot, I’ve literally just read something that I really enjoy. It’s not something out of the box but I really did enjoy this shoujo manga very much.

I was particularly drawn in by the art, it’s really pretty and the manga-ka has her own cute touch. I’ve started to stay away from manga that have more generic art-styles because I’m horrible and I judge a book by it’s cover. You’ll pretty much know what will happen after the first quarter of the story and I think it’s probably one of the most over-used shoujo one-shot scenarios but even though I’ve read tons of them, I’ll always need them.

The story involves the heroine going through lengths just to gaze at her admired person once a day but I suppose this extremism will be forgiven since she’s earning some dosh while she’s at it. It’s about unrequited love but the main hero steps into the light just when we want him to so all is well. The story isn’t dramaticised and maintains this fluid storyline which isn’t rushed. I really love how the hero has almost the exact same reason to work like the heroine, it makes the overall story undeniably sweet and you can’t help but wonder why can’t this happen to yourself(or that’s just me.)

That’s all from me for this weekend, or maybe not but here I go, continuing my performance art research. Have a wonderful weekend.

Rating: 4.0/5

2 Comments

Filed under Manga Related, One-Shots

2 responses to “One-Shot for the Weekend: Happy Every Day

  1. emysan83

    Thanks for the oneshot update! Sounds sweet ^^ something nice and simple for a pick-me-up after this busy week!

Leave a Reply

