Spring Anime 2011 – Ranks, Rants & Ratings

OOOOOKAYYYYY!!! So I’ve been through most of the Spring 2011 Anime, and here are my rankings (in the order in which they appear), my rants (what I pretty much thought about them) and my ratings. The first 2 are pretty subjective to me, but I tried my best to keep the ratings more unbiased; so basically I could think an anime was good, therefore giving it a high rating, but personally preferred another one over it hence giving it a better rank and rant.

Ratings might still be quite biased since I pretty much dashed through everything (there’s about 26 anime here people!) but I tried my best – in fact I think this is the longest post I’ve ever written… Anyway I might give them proper reviews later on in the season, but if you have any favourites you particularly want us to review or whatever, feel free to drop us a message! =D

*WARNING: LOOOOOOONG POST*

This is a pretty huge step up from my previous spring anime post since there are so much more episodes and series’ this time round @_@ Sorry if it’s all a bit too much spammed into a single post – I just really wanted to clear it all up in one go… so let’s start!

Ao no Exorcist

Hopeless dude who can hardly get anything right and keeps getting into fights. Was brought up in an orphanage with twin bro, when suddenly – well, waddya know? – an extremely shounen twist of fate happens.

Okay this rant is going to be super biased since I’m already a fan of the manga. Seriously though, out of the long list of anime I’ve watched so far this spring I still think this is the one I’ve enjoyed the most. Even if you’ve read the manga and know everything that’s about to go down, Ao no Exorcist is definitely still a must-watch. It’s not just the animation, it’s the structure of the story and everything that just makes it completely worthwhile. Also – besides the fact that for some reason I can’t get enough of Rin’s face – story-wise and overall, this is already my favourite so far… and I’ve only watched one episode of it😄

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Since this is No.1 I’ll put in a special mention for their ED – I seriously like it! It’s by that 2PM korean boy band or something =P

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Boku-tachi wa Mada Shiranai

Hikikomori suddenly finds an apparition of a childhood friend who he simply believes is a manifestation of his stress.

Also known as AnoHana, this was one of the anime I blindly watched without bothering to find out what it was all about. The story is pretty simple, but it’s the complicated relationships and the mysterious past of the characters (just how did everything fall apart?) and the characters themselves that really keeps me hooked. The way everything told is really sweet, simple and clear cut – the re-visitation of a childhood past feels really nostalgic to me. Despite the rather slice-of-life/drama storyline though, there’s a nice balance of a light-hearted comedy and shounen genre that makes it completely irresistible!

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Tiger & Bunny

A middle aged-dude who’s a superhero in the city facing a sort of mid-life superhero crisis.

I gotta admit, my rating for Tiger & Bunny is pretty low for something in my top 3 (especially when compared to the others). Still, despite the fact that I find it so thoroughly enjoyable I don’t think that, in general, it’s that phenomenal – the protagonist is an irreplaceable character. If he wasn’t there I probably wouldn’t like it this ridiculously much. The bickering and exchanges between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious; the nickname ‘Bunny-chan’ when he’s real name is ‘Barnaby’ (along with his mocking mimic of bunny ears in his mecha suit) made me laugh so hard I just had to pause the video for awhile. So basically what’s keeping me hooked is the main character, but even that was enough to rope it in for top 3😉

Rating: 4.5/5.0

Steins Gate

A kinda screwed in the head dude who’s obsessed with conspiracy theories, and time somehow gets thrown out of whack after he sends a message.

It was actually pretty hard to decide between Tiger & Bunny and Steins Gate for the 3rd spot, but I ended up choosing the former. What I like most about Steins Gate is the whole conspiracy theory going on, the various concepts it’s popping up and that ridiculous protagonist. Things are starting to get explained now, and I find it getting more interesting with every episode – while before it was mainly the main dude that kept me watching, there’s more now that I want to find out from Steins Gate.

Rating: 4.8/5.0

Hana-Saku Iroha

City girl boots over to countryside, where she has to work in a ryokan under her grandma since her mom ran off somewhere with her boyfriend.

Although it was first in line in my previous ranking, the reason it dropped down isn’t because it suddenly became bad – it’s just that the others exponentially got better. I feel that the ‘like’ I had for Hanairo in the first episode hasn’t gone up or down at all – it’s still good, but the enjoyment is for it is pretty stagnant. In terms of the slice of life genre for this season however, while Hanairo is the cream, AnoHana is the cherry that sits on the top. Oh well, it’s still one of my favourites and it definitely warrants a watch!

Rating: 4.8/5.0

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

University student who is always super low on cash, wishes he had more and gets the chance to enter some financial district where he just has to pwn others to roll in the dough.

It took me quite awhile to understand what was going on, but once I got the gist I really got into the anime. I started liking it even more by the 2nd episode when all the action was going all hoo-zah. I like the non-hypocritical, normal guy as the protagonist, and I like watching that clown dude just screwing with everything all over the place. It all feels a little Yu-Gi-Oh-ish actually (cards? Fighting creatures popping out of it? Losing points every single time you get whacked?) but like… the young adult version. Konami or Bandai should so invest in this man.

Rating: 4.7/5.0

Deadman Wonderland

High school kid was the only survivor of a massacre of his classmates in school, was made the primary suspect of the case and then sentenced to death at Deadman Wonderland.

I’ve read the manga for this a long time ago but stopped somewhere in the middle. Since my memory of it is super vague, I can’t see much difference between the way everything was told in the manga and anime. Only 1 episode so far so it’s quite hard to tell how much I’m gonna enjoy it, but for a survival/tragedy manga, it’s doing good. Nothing over rated or over done *coughHotDCOUGH* and the whole injustice faced by the main dude really makes you feel like whacking someone in the anime. Which is telling me that it’s really getting the message and the hopeless feeling across. Which is very, very good😄

Rating: 4.5/5.0

Sket Dance

An odd-job club made out of three people – goggled leader, ex-yankee girl and nerd who speaks through a computer.

Hmm… From the 1st episode to the 3rd now, it’s a good shounen anime – but not any more than that really. Like Hanairo, the enjoyment is still there but it’s pretty stagnant. It’s still enjoyable though so I’m definitely going to continue watching it, although I probably won’t be running around haphazardly if an episode got delayed or something.

Rating: 4.2/5.0

Astarotte no Omocha!

10-year-old succubus who doesn’t want anything to do with men coz she hates them, makes a deal with caretaker that she would start building up harem once someone gets her a human male.

Astarotte no Omocha – or Lotte no Omocha – was one of the anime I was thoroughly convinced I would absolutely dislike, yet I ended up liking quite a lot. The main relationship in the story really reminds me of Hayate no Gotoku but well… the difference between a lady and a butler is most definitely not the same as a succubus and potential harem member(or at least I certainly hope not). Oh well. I thought it was going to be one of those annoying tsundere shows with some pathetic male lead, but the characters are all really likeable. The whole plot seems to be taking a back seat compared to character development, but it’s still enjoyable.

Honestly speaking, I am really quite shocked that I like thiso_O

Rating: 4.3/5.0

Hyouge Mono

Historical manga during Oda Nobunaga’s time period, from the perspective of his tea-obsessed subordinate.

This is pretty much an all-historical anime – the only thing that distorts it as being purely historical is the main character who is obsessed with anything that has to do with tea. The whole historical concept kinda reminds me of Samurai Champloo, actually (although there really isn’t much in common besides that). It’s a nice, educational watch – but I think I’ll save it up until it has more episodes in the future for the moment. Besides that, I currently can’t seem to keep the opening song out of my head (the ED is pretty awesome as well!)

Rating: 4.3/5.0

30-sai no Hoken Taiiku

The God of Sex descends upon 30 year old virgin in order to enlighten him about the other side of life and… get things going.

The God dude is one of those super obnoxious ones that are so full of themselves that never fails to make you laugh – especially when you partner him up with an ordinary dude who’s so hooked up to normal that he needs something more abnormal to nudge him into doing SOMETHING >=D In any case all the episodes are about 12 minutes long, so it’s still worth a watch even if you’re kind of short on time (The starting of the 2nd episode was just priceless)

Rating: 4.2/5.0

Toriko

Super macho, dragonball-ish dude who catches wild beasts for food.

I read the manga, but besides the lack of info behind head chef dude there’s really not much difference. Toriko is enjoyable, even if watching it always makes me feel like eating meat. Lots, and lots, of meat.

Rating: 4.0/5.0

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

Normal guy who starts living with aunt in the city, ends up staying with his weird cousin as well who remains wrapped up in a futon.

The characters are all those that you’ve met before so there’s nothing new there, but the take on the story seems to be going in a direction I’ve never previously encountered before. The whole alien belief of the female lead so far doesn’t seem to be one of those typical anime ones where it’s just there for comic relief – there seems to be something more solidly realistic implied, and I suppose that’s where the divergence is. Putting all that together, it’s a nice watch even if it’s rather typical and not really what I choose to watch usually =D

Rating: 4.3/5.0

Hen-Zemi

AKA Abnormal Physiology Seminar. Seminar group that gets together and just discovers ways to be disgusting in general. 

This is just. Really weird. As in, I don’t get why such a seminar group would exist in any university – but that’s the anime/manga world for you. Despite all that ridiculous set-up, with all the ridiculous characters, I still find myself laughing every single time I cringe in disgust.

Rating: 4.2/5.0

Yondemasuyo, Azazel-san

A detective agency that uses demons to help with investigations. All the demons seem to be there for gory purposes.

Another one of those 12-minute shows. They’re all short and enjoyable, and it’s one of those stories with no particular aim – it mainly focuses on the characters and the jobs they handle (usually involving quite a lot of blood and violent humour). It seems to be the type where you don’t need to know what happened in the last episode; so long you understand the concept, you can just enjoy the comedy at any random point in the story. Then again, I’ve only watched like. 2 episodes =P

Rating: 4.1/5.0

Dororon Enma-kun Meeramera

Grade school kid finds out there’s a demon patrol underneath her school after getting caught up in some supernatural incident in her school.

Initially I thought it was a kid’s anime – maybe something like Kaidan Restaurant – and then suddenly you see the female heroine getting kidnapped and stripped every episode (and I seriously do mean every). I mean, it’s still funny and all – it’s not a cheapish sort of story, and it’s still enjoyable despite the stock characters… but it just looked like a real kids anime. Maybe it’s coz the setting is in an elementary school, plus the fact that the manga is pretty old, so the drawing resembles anime I watched when I was a kid… but I just checked back the rating and apparently its R17. All my questions are now answered =_=

Rating: 3.8/5.0

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

Uke works in some shoujo manga publishing company, finds out a couple of months that his boss (the seme) used to be his ex-lover of sorts.

I don’t usually watch BL, and since I’ve read the manga it seems kinda redundant to watch the anime (it’s not the same for shounen usually coz I like to see all the action raring to go. I don’t know if I want to watch BL action in motion…). Still, I do find it enjoyable and I can laugh at small parts. It is really cute and sweet I suppose, so I’ll watch it if I’ve got some time to kill.

Rating: 4.1/5.0

Hidan no Aria

Guy goes to mercenary school, one day is nearly killed by some other dude who’s targeting mercenary school students, get saved by bratty tsundere.

I’ll start by saying I really like the concept, I really like the setting, and I really like the plot. What I don’t like and borderline hate, are the characters. And I don’t just mean one or two, I mean all. I’m not against the usage of stock characters or anything, it’s just that Hidan no Aria has succeeded in putting all the character types I hate most into an anime. I remember reading the 1st chapter of the manga and not continuing for the same reason – an anime could have a crappy plot but awesome characters and I would love it. Apparently it doesn’t work the same in reverse.

God can someone just blast away that bratty tsundere and her cocky, hypocritical male lead? =_=

Rating: 4.0/5.0

Nichijou

Daily school life of a group of girls, and daily life of a robot and her creator.

It’s this low on my rankings not because I find it bad, its just that I don’t really enjoy 4-koma comedy. I understand some stories don’t really have any direction, aim or plot, but I think Nichijou really brings that to a whole new level. Nothing. Happens. Still, the characters are all really cute and the comedy is good – it makes me smile most of the time, but not really laugh. I only rated it lower than Hidan no Aria since I’m just less likely to watch it, but I do think Nichijou is a really relaxing, simple comedy show that’s worth your time.

Rating: 4.3/5.0

X-Men

Dude if you need a summary for X-Men, you are just totally out of whack.

Hahaha okay I said previously I would continue watching X-Men, but right now I don’t think I so. X-Men has always branched into different little storylines, and you sort of figure out the whole pattern and how everything is going to turn out… so I’ll probably wait until all the episodes come out and finish it in one go.

Rating: 3.7/5.0

Hoshizora e Kakaru Hashi

Dude moves to countryside with little bro, gets spammed by harem, etc. etc. so on so forth.

It’s the usual visual game whatever adaptation. Kind of reminds me of Yosuga no Sora, although this time I super hope that the main character won’t get it on with his younger sibling. It’s honestly not as bad and clichéd as I thought it would be, and it’s started okay – but that’s what I usually think when I watch these game adaptations. Usually by the 4th episode I start getting annoyed. I’ll still give this a fair shot I suppose.

Rating: 3.5/5.0

Oretachi Tsubasa wa Nai

4 different guys, the usual harem of girls, their lives that stroll on in the city. 

Okay. Initially I wasn’t going to continue watching OreTsuba since it seemed really pointless and kind of annoying, but after receiving a little recommendation from Sick I decided to go ahead with the 2nd and 3rd episode. It’s not as bad as I thought initially, but still… now that all (I think) of the characters have been introduced, I still have no idea where this story is going. It just seems to be staying in one place as if it doesn’t want to explain what’s going on. The stock character types and relationships aren’t the ones that I particularly like either, so I’m probably going to wait until more episodes pop up and would explain the story they’re trying to tell until I continue.

Rating: 3.4/5.0

Sengoku Otome: Momoiro Paradox

Girl time travels to the warring states era where everyone has big boobs, even Oda Nobunaga.

I said I wouldn’t continue watching this, but I thought that since I gave OreTsuba a chance I might as well give this on a shot as well. So I watched the 2nd episode and about ¼ of the 3rd one. I pretty much have the same thoughts about it as I did initially, but I just find the characters a tad bit less annoying then I did before. Still don’t find it particularly interesting though.

Rating: 3.6/5.0

The remaining 3 in this list are those that I didn’t watch beyond the first episode, and  have no intention to go past it. Due to my extremely biased dislike, I decided that it would be too unfair to give them a rating so I’ll just give my rant and rankings =)

Sofuteni/Softenni

Simple comedy about a bunch of girls playing soft tennis in a countryside school, and one of them has a particularly strong ecchi imagination.

I just. Didn’t find this interesting. I kinda felt like I wasted my time.

Dog Days

Some baby face middle school super acrobat boy goes to some animal-human world where a super lame war is going on.

His face annoyed me so much. Everything looked. Fluffy and bedazzled.

A Channel

Chibi kid just enters high school to follow some other friend of hers, is hyper-protective of her, and can’t really get used to the fact that the other friend has other friends.

I did NOT like this. I just found Softenni uninteresting. Dog Days just chose the wrong face for its protagonist (plus a couple of a lot of other stuff…). But A Channel… I don’t care if anyone critiques me for this – I just hate it. The characters were annoying – and I find a lot of things annoying, but this was one of those that are like. At the ionosphere level. I don’t care how interesting the plot or story might get on after the 1st episode, I have already had enough out of those 4 girls and refuse to watch another episode any further. Nothing can save my prejudice for it.

Alrighttt… so that’s it from me! I’ve got exams coming up in like 3 weeks, and besides having to settle quite a lot of stuff for my society I have to do really well in my exams in order to get a shot at getting a bursary scholarship. I probably won’t be posting as often, but if I am then that’s bad. Coz that means I’ve just been watching and reading more anime and manga. Again.

Oh well. Hope you all have a good Easter anyway!

-arawr >=3

6 Comments

Filed under Anime Rants, Anime Related, Featured, Manga Related, Music

6 responses to “Spring Anime 2011 – Ranks, Rants & Ratings

  1. AO NO EXORCIST!! YAAAY!!!

    Haha! Leading character of Dog Days annoyed me for looking like the typical shounen fantasy adventure hero instead. But it turned out that he was pretty decent, to my relief.

    (What a coincidence that we make a list like this on the same day [in my timezone at least], haha)

    • I LOVE IT SOOOOO MUCHHHH!!! XDXD even now when i’m like 2 weeks away from exams i still go ahead and re-read the manga…. holi krap i’m screweddddo_O

      i think the hero is a decent guy, even if he is a bit too un-macho for my liking… but i don’t know why i just look past the baby face to see the story =_=

      hahah i’ll go look over your list sometime soon!! have to focus on studies right now!! (can’t wait to see ur thoughts on it!)😄

  2. emysan83

    Waaa~ What a long post ^^
    I can’t believe you’ve watched all these shows! Ahh, I feel so left behind haha! I’ve heard nothing but good things about Ao No Exocist so I think i’ll definitely have to watch it sometime. I think I’ll wait until it’s completed though. I’m so sick of waiting for things to come out~ I’m way too impatient for my own good ^^

    • haha for most I only ended up watching 2 or 3 episodes since that’s what they had back then, but I’m starting to follow only certain series’ already

      u know what… your plan might actually be for the best lol. The manga actually hasn’t gone that far, and I feel like tearing out my hair at the end of every chapter coz I just reallllllllllyy wanna know what happens next o_O”

  3. omiwz

    hidan no arai
    Stein;Gate
    GOGOGOGO!!!!

  4. Pingback: Summer Anime 2011 Rants | manga weekend

Leave a Reply

