Boku to Tsuma no 1778 no Monogatari / 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife

Boku to Tsuma no 1778 no Monogatari  (僕と妻の1778の物語) / 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife

Director: Mamoru Hoshi

Writer: Mayumura Taku (novel), Hanzawa Ritsuko

Genre: Drama, Romance

Production Company: Toho

After sci-fi writer Sakutaro ( Tsuyoshi Kusanagi ) learns that his wife Setsuko ( Yuko Takeuchi ) has colon cancer, he takes the advice from his doctor that laughter helps the immune system. Sakutaro then writes a short story for his wife every day.

This isn’t an anime, manga and neither is it one of those 50 or 90 minute dramas. So why post it in MW? It’s just that I strongly feel that it is one of the most touching, heart warming stories I’ve ever come across.

I was on a 12 hour flight back home, and picked out Boku to Tsuma no 1778 no Monogatari, or 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife for my first movie. Towards the end, I was gnawing my pillow (very hygienic) so I wouldn’t look like some clichéd, weeping, heart-broken girl on the plane.

The best thing about the whole movie was the – well – love. There are all those typical dramas or whatever about a dead or dying spouse, but the way this was handle was just so full of their affection. I honestly thought that it wasn’t that romantic, and neither it wasn’t overly dramatic, it was just overflowing with the love the couple had for each other. I don’t think I’ve really experience a show where it was really just about two people – and just those two, with nobody else. I feel that the whole story really sticks to the title – it was all from the husband, to his wife, and it was meant for nobody else.

And that is really what 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife is all about.

One of my absolute favourite quotes is from The Last Samurai;

“Tell me how he died.”

“…I will tell you how he lived.”

It was so, so wonderful to experience a story that was so full of life and love even in the face of death. It celebrated their relationship, rather than dragging a stormy cloud over it. They were always aware that the next day could be the last, yet at the same time they tried to act as if they could still grow old together. It’s the sort of movie that would make you laugh and cry, then laugh and cry again, and finally smile (with bucket loads of tears) at the end.

And what probably makes me smile and tear up the most is the fact that 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife is based on a true story.

=’)

1 Comment

Filed under Drama/Film, Featured

One response to “Boku to Tsuma no 1778 no Monogatari / 1,778 Stories of Me and My Wife

  1. ;_______; omg, not sure if I want to watch this or not. I’m such a crybaby when it comes to sad stuff. Reminds me a bit of Socrates in Love (which I haven’t read yet because I heard it’s sad too…)

Leave a Reply

