Some Autumn/Fall Anime 2011!

Yes, you can tell how impatient and eager I am for the autumn line-up seeing as the summer anime hasn’t even had a chance to start. Ah well. I’m mainly doing this post since one of my favourite manga is being adapted into an anime for the fall, and since I was at it I thought I might as well add a few others.

My main source for all the anime listed here is from Fan Sub Wiki. The other sources I cite are mostly those I found after I went through my main source; you can find articles all over but I’m not gonna cite every single friggin one I found

After writing up this whole article, I kinda feel like this fall line-up is actually a whole lot more interesting than the summero_O

Anyway! Let’s start with the one I’m most excited about! =D

Chihayafuru

All her life, Chihaya’s dream was to see her model sister become Japan’s best… That is, until a quiet, unassuming transfer student named Arata tells her otherwise. A dream, he explains to her, is something she needs to work at herself. Arata plays a competitive version of a traditional Japanese card game–known as Hyakunin Isshu–in a way Chihaya has never seen before. After taking Arata’s place in a game, Chihaya discovers she has a passion for it. Now Chihaya wants to become number one in the world, the Queen of Karuta.

I was super excited when I found out this was being adapted into an anime. I follow the manga, and it is really, really good. Worth every single scrap of time you may or may not have. It’s about a game probably nobody outside Japan would have heard of –karuta. It doesn’t really matter to me though – I’ve read stuff like Eyeshield 21 (epiccc), Saki and Ookiku Furikabutte without understanding what the hell was going on in the first few chapters (I still didn’t understand crap about mah-jong by the end of Saki) but I still really, really enjoyed the stories. These sports manga really emphasises dedication, perseverance and teamwork – themes I really like.

So I like Chihayafuru. A lot.

Autumn Anime BANZAIII!! =D

Source Moetron

Guilty Crown

After the outbreak of the unidentified virus “Lost Christmas” in 2029, Japan has been under the control of a multi-nation organization called GHQ. Ohma Shu is a 17 year old boy who has a psychic power in his right hand. He can use the power “Ability of King” to extract tools or weapons from his friends. He has been avoiding making trouble for others but his life changes when he meets a girl Yuzuriha Inori, a member of a resistance guerrilla group called “Undertaker”, whose members pilot mecha weapons to fight against the government.

I went over to the website and damn this thing looks cool! The style is really Deadman Wonderland-ish, the summary sounds interesting… and we’re talking about the same writers as Code Geass here, so I am definitely looking forward to this >=D

Official ANN

Persona 4: The Animation

Persona 4 takes in a rural town named Inaba.There have been mysterious murders occurring whenever there was fog after heavy rain. There were also rumors about a channel on television airing only at midnight called Mayonaka TV, during which it is said that one can see his/her “other half” when staring at the TV screen. After hearing about a recent unsolved murder which occurred during the fog, the characters—the main character, Chie, and Yōsuke—discuss how each of them had attempted to watch the mysterious TV channel and witnessed the murder victim.

I’ve never played the game or anything, but it does sound nicely creepy so this is definitely an anime I’ll be following. Besides – it’s probably the yellow background – but it reminds me ever so discreetly of Durarara!!! and – it’s probably the whole murder and isolatd town thing – Shiki.

Official Moetron MyAnimeList

Un-Go

The latest upcoming from noitaminA is [UN-GO] a mind-numbing series hinting towards an ideological story of population controls, world orders, and mass experimentation expected to air this October.

Go check out the official page. Holy shit, this is going to be so awesome >=)

Official ANN SeventhStyle

Mirai Nikki

High school 2nd year, Amano Yukiteru, is a boy who has problem making friends. He thinks of himself as a bystander and will always write down everything he sees in a cell phone diary. Tormented by solitude, Yukiteru began to imagine things like a friend called Deus Ex Machina who is apparently the Lord of Time & Space. Seeing Yukiteru’s miserable state, Deus gives him a new ability. His diary will now record events that will happen in the near future. Yukiteru is then forced to participate in a game which the winner will become Deus’s successor.

It’s been awhile since I read Mirai Nikki – and I didn’t stop because I got bored of it or anything, I stopped coz honestly speaking… I was getting a little too freaked out by it. Mirai Nikki is probably one of the top psychological genre reads out there, and I was a wee bit young at that time to appreciate that concept. I really did enjoy it, I just couldn’t handle it. But now that I’m old and all, I am ready for all the diaries and creepy stalkers for the fall. Ohhh, yeahh….

Official Moetron ANN

Coppelion

In 2016 a meltdown of a nuclear power plant creates a big catastrophe in Tokyo. 20 years later, the city has become a ghost town due to the high levels of radiation. From that area a distress signal is received, the Self-Defense Forces dispatch 3 girls from the special unit Coppelion to search for survivors. But why aren’t they wearing any protection against radiation?

I haven’t read the manga for this, but I think I might pick it up now. It actually sounds pretty interesting!

Source tokyohive ANN

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle

Daimon Kaito is a high school boy, who loves puzzles. One day, the president of the student council gives him a mobile device and it leads him to an underground ruin buried in the school. He challenges an ” insolvable puzzle” hidden in the ruin with his girlfriend Nonoha, but the puzzle turns out to be the dangerous “The Puzzle of Sage” created by the black society “POG”. He manages to solve the puzzle but it’s the beginning of a puzzle battle against POG.

Official ANN MyAnimeList

 Horizon on the Middle of Nowhere (Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon)

The story is set in a distant future where Japan is divided into feudal territories and conquered by other countries. There is a floating city named Musashi that is composed of eight ships in the skies. A war that will determine the fate of the world will be fought by students on the Musashi.

Official MyAnimeList

Bakuman Season 2

Moritaka Mashiro and Akito Takagi are pretty much foils of each other. Mashiro, an average 9th grade student but talented artist, and Takagi, an overall advanced 9th grader and aspiring writer. After great convincing, Takagi convinces Mashiro to join him in becoming the greatest mangakas Japan has ever seen. Takagi, with his gift of writing, hopes to become a successful mangaka, and Mashiro, with his gift of art, hopes to marry the girl of his dreams, Azuki Miho. 

Well, I wouldn’t say I’m excited for this… but Hiramaru should be appearing by the 2nd season since that’s where the 1st season left off. And a little bit of Hiramaru always makes a lot of good =D

I’m not gonna wail in despair if it airs or not either way – I do love the manga, but there’s not much feeling I get off the anime. It’s like. Animated manga. I mean, like, the actions (i.e. writing and talking and drawing) aren’t really something I desperately want to watch in an anime, even if it is from one of my favourite manga.

But I’ll watch it anyway.

Official ANN

Fate/Zero

Fate/zero takes place 10 years prior to the events of Fate/stay night, detailing the events of the 4th Holy Grail War in Fuyuki City. The War of the Holy Grail is a contest in which seven magi summon seven Heroic Spirits to compete to obtain the power of the “Holy Grail,” which grants a miracle. After three inconclusive wars for the elusive Holy Grail, the Fourth War commences.

Prequel to Fate/stay night. I don’t remember much about it since I only watched a few episodes, now might be a good time to go dig it out from my cupboard =3

Official Moetron

 Tamayura ~Hitotose~

The story takes place in Seto Inland Sea and is about a girl who likes taking pictures.

Slice of life? Sign me up!

Official MyAnimeList

C3 (CubexCursedxCurious)

One day the high school student Yachi Haruaki received a mysterious black box sent by his father from abroad. It was a “Cursed” object which could assume human form. The black box whose name was Fear came to Haruaki wanting to rid herself of the curse. Together with Haruaki and his boarder Konoha, Fear decides to do helpful things in order to neutralize the negative energy that was built within her, to be free from the curse that bound her.

Official Nabe

Kimi to Boku

Shun, Kaname, and the twins Yuuki and Yuuta have been friends since kindergarten. It’s a little hard to tell if they actually get along or not – but even as high-school students, they hang out together. Recently, they’ve had a new addition; a half-Japanese transfer student Chizuru, who has started to liven up the group. This manga is really just about their daily lives, which aren’t particularly passionate or exciting. A tranquil and sometimes comedic story of youthful friendship..

I’ve actually read a bit of the manga. It’s the very normal day-to-day life sort of story which reminds me a little of Nichijou, and it has that everything but explicitly announced shounen-ai which reminds me of Kuroshitsuji. The story’s really quite cute though =D

Official tokyohive

(4th) Lupin III Project

Arsene Lupin III is the grandson of the master thief Arsene Lupin. With his cohorts Daisuke Jigen and Goemon Ishikawa XIII and his love interest Fujiko Mine, he pulls off the greatest heists of all time while always escaping the grasp of Inspector Koichi Zenigata.

I know it’s a classic, but I’m ashamed to say I’ve never read or watched it. Time to change that!

Official ANN

Mobile Suit Gundam AGE

I couldn’t really find a synopsis and got too lazy to hunt for one. Oh well. Gundam is Gundam. Go reel in the cash Bandai >=)

Official Moetron

Shakugan no Shana III (Final)

According to Animedia August issue, producer Nakayama Nobuhiro said the OVA series “Shakugan no Shana S” is followed by the third season.

I never really liked Shakugan no Shana. Has a big fanbase though, so I suppose a lot of people are happy about this.

Official MyAnimeList

Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!!

Based on the adult visual novel, it’s a slapstick comedy story of the original game is set in a modern-day school and features a boy named Yamato Nanoe who is surrounded by all-warrior female cast… and it’s being directed by the same guy who did School Days. There are people out there who didn’t even watch that anime… but still knows how it ended.

Official ANN Moetron

Fujilog Second Season

The story follows the hapless life of Osamu Fujiyama, 33 years old and NEET (Not in Education, Employment or Training). I wasn’t even aware that there was a season 1 (it’s supposed to be part of the spring anime). I can’t actually find a solid source for this, only found it on fansubwiki…

Official MyAnimeList

Hope you all have an enjoyable weekend! =3

23 Comments

Filed under Anime Rants, Anime Related, Manga Related

23 responses to “Some Autumn/Fall Anime 2011!

  1. tomphile

    PERSONA 4 ANIME? You have got to be kidding me. Oh my god, this is amazing news. Being a big Persona fan I can only look forward to great things from that show – now where’s my PS2 disk?

  2. AlterNate413

    Can’t wait for the 3rd season of Shakugan no shana as well as Mirai Nikki…

    • can’t wait for mirai nikki! not much of a shana fan but i might just watch it just to see how it all ends =P

      • SnS3

        Season 3 of SnS is going to be epic if you know anything about the novels. Yuji will be the main antagonist against Shana.

  3. wow…….sugoi…….there are to many interesting anime……

  4. lets just forget summer…..drop it out, and let the Fall come…
    Fate/Zero , Shakugan no Shana the 3rd and other interesting animes, and I heard Kizumonogtarari too ….why can’t it be Autumn already

    • lol i know what you mean. after looking at the partial autumn lineup the almost full summer lineup looks so dreary and boooring =_=
      wow is kizumonogatari airing this autumn? i heard there were plans for an anime adaptation but i didn’t hear when!!😄 so excitedd!!

  5. Pingback: Autumn/Fall Anime 2011 Chart! | manga weekend

  6. Sam

    Finally, I’m seeing multiple anime I want to watch. It has been way too long since I’ve wanted to see more than just one or two shows. personally, summer has been iffy so far. I /was/ looking forward to bloodC, but having seen Blood+, I can’t stop comparing the two. I miss my old Saya. ;__;

    • I know what u mean =( Personally I felt like the first eps of Blood C was a waste of 20 minutes coz it was kinda draggy. Plus it was too CLAMP-ish to be part of the Blood series…

      I’ve seen some new good stuff this summer though – Mawaru Penguindrum, No 6 and Usagi Drop in particular =D Hopefully the others are gonna get better..

  7. asad

    C3 (CubexCursedxCurious) reminds me of 11eyes if anyone has seen it

  8. SealedTruth

    Persona 4 the game is one of the greatest games I came across, there’s no doubt the anime will be great too!

  9. Pingback: Autumn Potpourri 2011 | ganbatte.

  10. james

    even with the shakugan no shana trailer, it still doesnt show definitavely who yuuji chose at the end😦 it was way to big of a cliffhanger

    • lol I don’t watch SnS, but if they showed who it was he chooses in the end then that would be considered a spoiler, my dear boy… hhahaha
      thx for dropping by! Hopefully it’ll turn out the way you like – or better =D

  11. Looks like I’ll be stretching my bandwidth even more this fall…:/ I’m already dragging it to the limit with all my VN’s. Lets hope my modem don’t start smoking!

    • Hahaha! Same here! The summer’s been bad enough since my internet would lag like mad due to all the shows my bro and I watch – I don’t think it’ll get much better this autumn @_@ Ah well. Sacrifices must be made! =D

  12. Pingback: This Genius’s Compendium For The 2011 Fall Anime Season | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

  13. Should I just skip Season 1 of Bakuman and go onto Season 2?

    • Hmm… honestly speaking, I think that Bakuman is something that you should watch/read from start to finish. What makes it most interesting for me is the whole system of how manga works, rather than the characters themselves. So yes, I do think you should watch the first season – although I do understand it can be a little hard since Bakuman tends to be quite wordy ^_^”

  14. Pingback: This Genius’s Compendium For The 2011 Fall Anime Season | Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

