Summer Anime 2011 Rants

When I first saw the summer line-up, I was quite excited but I wasn’t that impressed. A small part of me kinda felt like not a lot of time would be spent watching anime this season; but after watching the handful that I have, I am really quite glad that it probably won’t turn out that way. I still find the autumn/fall line-up a lot more interesting, but I’ll try to appreciate the present a bit more.

As for the present spring anime that are still continuing, I’m still following Steins Gate, Tiger & Bunny, Hanasaku Iroha and Ao no Exorcist. It’s quite nice to watch and listen to some of the new OPs and EDs. =D

Now, with some music to get us started and all that said, on with the rants!

Natsume Yuujinchou San

Dude who can see spirits, inherits the ‘book of friends’ that used to belong to his grandma that contains the names of spirits. Returns their names to them before they get too pissed off using his spit and some CO2.

The highly anticipated third season of Midorikawa Yuki’s most successful series to date – Natsume Yuujinchou. Out of all the other summer anime, this was probably the one I was waiting for the most. If you’ve been waiting for it, just like me and chungky here… I promise you, you won’t be disappointed. It’s been awhile since I watched Natsume Yuujinchou Zoku, but from the moment I started watching Natsume Yuujinchou San, all the feelings from before came rushing back – the nostalgia, the bitter sweetness and that magical feeling I only seem to get from this anime.

If you’ve never watched the first two seasons, it’s not that big of a deal really. As long as you’ve grasped the main idea (boy with high spiritual power that is not Kurosaki Ichigo), it’s easily understandable. Everything you need to know is in the first episode of the first season, so you could just watch that instead of the full 2 seasons prior to this.

Be warned however – Natsume Yuujinchou will pull you in. The moment you start watching it, you may have as well written your own name down and given it to the anime.

Kamisama Dolls

University student from countryside, has crush on girl with big boobs and has a moe little sister. His village apparently adopts Gods in the form of mechas, where some people can control and summon them at will (e.g. not him)

This was a pleasant surprise. The action anime for this season doesn’t look very strong, and I’ve only heard of so-so reviews for Kamisama Dolls. I like the mecha here – it’s the sort of fantasy mecha instead of the sci-fi type, and it looks kinda cute really. I’m also really digging the story of the whole secret-village-secret-shrine-secret-mecha thing. The characters don’t follow the generic hyperbolic anime personality too much either, so it’s a lot more enjoyable to watch and a whole lot less irritating. I’m definitely following this!

Ikoku Meiro no Croisée (La croisée dans un labyrinthe étranger)

Moe Japanese girl travels all the way to France due to her fascination with their culture. Decked in her moe kimono, the short-tempered guy she lives with isn’t very impressed by her moe-ness.

So I’ve been anticipating this ever since I read the manga. Hmm… Still, I would be lying if I said it’s the best anime so far. It is really, really sweet; and Yune is suuuuuper moe~! Just like with the manga, I really do enjoy watching the relationship between Yune and Claude grow, and the way they try to adapt  to and understand one another’s cultures. What makes this so different from other cross-cultural anime is the setting – most have it in a modern setting, while this takes place in the 2nd half of the 19th century, where there’s even less exposure to any other foreign culture. This unique point is good enough to warrant a watch, and all the other appealing features have definitely compelled me to wait for it every week this summer.

And this is quite ridiculous, but I get so excited when I hear all the fluent French words in this Japanese anime 😄

Kami-sama no Memo-chou

A bunch of NEETs who like to stalk other people’s lives in order to gain world peace. Or something to that extent.

Number 1 thing I really like about this anime: its BGM. It’s something like the Air Gear/Durarara!! type of music – very urban, very Tokyo, very my kind of music. It even has my favourite OP and ED so far for this summer (although for the moment that’s not really saying much…)! As for the story, it was actually a lot better than I thought it would be. I don’t usually appreciate the ‘boy meets weird girl’ kind of story (it’s the Denpa Onna of the summer), but with the unusual crowd surrounding this one, it’s pretty appealing. I wish the main girl wouldn’t dress the way she does when she goes out though, since it’s an almost dead ringer for Victorique from Gosick (I didn’t get past the first episode of that). The cases they deal with seem pretty interesting so far, so I’ll probably stick around for a bit more – plus, I really want to hear more of that music 😉

The catch phrase is pretty awesome too – it’s the only NEET thing to do

Yuru Yuri

4 girls in a club that sit in the tea house they hijacked, and basically do nothing productive.

After the 4-girl disaster in spring that went from boring (Sofutenni) to murder-inducing (A Channel), I wasn’t expecting much from Yuru Yuri. I just watched it since I’ve got so much spare time right now, and… found it to be enjoyable, actually. It’s the usual 4 girls in a club situation, but the sort of humour and camaraderie reminds me a lot of K-On… plus a bit more, well, shoujo-ai.

Nyanpire the Animation

The Edward Cullen of cats – but way more attractive.

SO CUTE. Utterly 0 storyline (it’s about a cat’s life, c’mon), but it’s only less than 5 minutes per episode. Which is good, since I’ve got a limited time span to go all ‘kyuuuun~’ over cats. There’s not much enjoyment you can get over it unless you’re the type that likes talking cats with huge huge eyes – but like I said, it’s not even 5 minutes of time wasted. So why not.

Anyway, speaking of cats, I found this anime de-motivational poster that I don’t really get but whatever it is, it’s just TOO CUTE 😄

Sacred Seven

The blowing up buildings kind of anime, plus a harem, plus the guy version of a mahou shoujo transformation (even with the mahou shoujo magical rock things)

Well I knew I wouldn’t like this from the start anyway, so it hasn’t disappointed or impressed me in any way at all. The girls would all be ‘I believe in him!’ when they’ve barely spoke 2 sentences to the guy, he’ll be all cool and angsty and lonely, he’ll somehow be the centre of things to save everyone besides being the centre of his harem… in the generic department where they want to appeal to their 13 or 14 year old male audience, I suppose they’ve ticked all the boxes. Except that they’ve got all these ‘by the power of the sun stone!’ kind of jewels with them that isn’t scoring very high on the macho scale…

Btw sorry but I just had to do this. It got stuck in my head and wouldn’t leave. I always wanted to do these motivational poster crap =D

4 Comments

Filed under Anime Rants, Anime Related, Featured, Music

4 responses to “Summer Anime 2011 Rants

  1. Buwhahahahaha!!!! “Imma be a Unicorn”!!!

  2. Pingback: Natsume Yūjin-Chō San Episode 01 & Thoughts | manga weekend

  3. Natsume 3: Wonderful, as expected
    Kamisama Dolls: I only watch Aki, for Aki, to Aki
    Kamisama Memo: IwasakiTaku (the one who did the bgm) never fails to impress me
    Ikoku: My moe~
    Yuri: crap
    Nyanpire: I hate cats
    Sacred Seven: HE SHOULD’VE TURNED INTO A UNICORN!!!!!! xD

Leave a Reply

