Weekend’s Ani-Manga Mail – Help Justin discover new anime/manga!

Wey-hey! And here, Weekend’s Ani-Manga Mail takes off with our first participant, Justin from Organization Anti-Social Geniuses. Here are a few words from Justin:

My name is Justin, and I’m one of the writers at Organization Anti-Social Geniuses. I happen to live where the lights are brightest (allegedly), and where the 27-time World Series Champion Yankees play. Yes, that’s NY. I’m usually very quiet. I do like to laugh a lot.

Justin is looking for an anime/manga that either has a good story and/or something ridiculously hilarious. He would like the anime/manga to be very satisfying; whereby a story is built, ‘left with intentional plot holes, but either answered said plot holes or left them unanswered in a way where fans can debate for years in a positive manner.’

In terms of genres, he’s is willing to get into anything, but has struggled with Yaoi & Yuri titles. He subscribes to the “if it’s good, it’s good” theory and says it doesn’t matter as long as he can understand it. He has finished reading 20th Century Boys and he names it as one of his prime favourite manga series.

He names Gintama, Doujin Work, and Ichigo 100% as some titles he surprisingly liked and here’s what he has to say about them:

I stumbled onto Gintama a few years back when I was reading an old edition of Shonen Jump in my school’s anime club room. The rest, as they say, is history–I purchased one volume, brought all of them (even the final one). Watched the anime, it’s hilarious, and I still watch it. Who would’ve thought aliens in Edo would have worked? Doujin Work happened to be based on sheer luck–I wanted to read a bunch of titles while I was at AnimeNext, and Doujin Work sounded interesting, so I read it. Next thing I know, I was hooked on Tsuyuri’s torturing–I mean Najimi’s prospects of making money off Doujin. Too bad Media Blasters has the rights to the series. I( am not sure why I got into Ichigo 100% but I read it online and couldn’t stop watching Manaka continue to make stupid decision after stupid decision–if a girl’s willing to give, then you take it. But Kawashita, while drawing the intense raunchy scenes, remembered this is for the shonen audience, so Manaka was screwed from the start.

Here, he names a title he does not like and a word or two on why:

It is almost unfair that I’m putting this in here, but Twin Angel: Twinkle Paradise was just so horrifically unlikable that I make it a mission to try and warn people of its horror. It’s bad enough it challenged my tolerance level of stupid (and I’m very, very tolerant), but it does everything that has been done before, and they do it so unimaginably that it’s pathetic. I deem it “The Unmentionable One.”

This is a list of anime/manga that Justin is following as of now:

Currently Watching: Mawaru Penguindrum, Blue Exorcist, Dantalian No Shoka, Mayo Chiki!, A Dark Rabbit Has Seven Lives, Ika Musume 2

Currently Reading: Usagi Drop, Fairy Tail, Good Ending, Bakuman, Mahou Sensei Negima, Freezing, The Breaker: New Waves, Death Note

So, what titles have you got in mind for Justin? It would be fantastic if you guys out there could give a title and perhaps a little reason why…? Come along and leave some recommendations below for our dear friend!

p.s if you would like participate or learn more about our ani-manga mail post. visit this post.

17 Comments

Filed under Anime Related, Manga Related, Manga Talk

17 responses to “Weekend’s Ani-Manga Mail – Help Justin discover new anime/manga!

  1. I usually read chick stuff so I don’t think I’ll be much help here but… xD

    Maybe Sumomomo Momomo? It’s got comedy. And stuff guys like… *whispersboobswhispers*
    But it’s definitely of an acquired taste. I have no idea why I like it. Probably because I love seeing the main character’s reaction to all the super fighting going on around him xD

    Don’t guys usually like Full Metal Panic? Or Full Metal Alchemist? Bleach? Soul Eater? Figured since he’s watching Blue Exorcist (good show btw) he might like these?
    Here’s a list of top anime that may catch his fancy:

    http://www.myanimelist.net/topanime.php

    Welp, I tried ^^ Good luck on the search ~ !

    • Lol I wonder if I made this especially difficult! Well, I’ll check out Sumomomo Momomo. I’ve already checked out the others😀 Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. This is where I put emphasis again (and again) on the fact you should watch both Steins;Gate and Tiger&Bunny.

    As for manga, you’d probably like Zetman, I think.

  3. Pingback: Shinryaku!? Ika Musume episode 2

  4. Based on the top three you mentioned, I think you’re more into shounen comedy and won’t mind some ecchi.
    Titles that popped into my head:
    Beelzebub, Slamdunk, Tiger & Bunny, Katekayo Hitman Reborn, Bakemonogatari, Sayonara Zetsbou Sensei, Mx0, Pretty Face, Genshiken, Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, Sket Dance, Kyou Kara Maou, Crayon Shin-chan, Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou, Eyeshield21, Soul Eater, Durarara!! …. okay, I’ll stop. Haha

    • Starting from Beezlebub: Seen, reading, Didn’t see, didn’t get into it, Didn’t See, didn’t see, didn’t read, didn’t read, didn’t see, didn’t get into it, didn’t get into it, didn’t read it, didn’t see, didn’t see, did see and read, seen, seen…

      Hey why’d you stop for!?? lol

      • I feared that I might go on forever, LOLz.

        Okay, the others I know are already mentioned, or I just can’t recall at the moment. I’ll mention some shoujo/josei this time I suppose: Ouran Highschool Hostclub, Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge, Gakuen Alice, Nodame Cantabile, Honey and Clover, Scarlet Prince, Makai Ouji

        Okay, more shounen/seinen: Detroit Metal City, Angel Beats, Star Driver, Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann, One Piece, 666Satan, Zombie Powder, Kimi to Boku (the manga!!! not the anime =_=)

        Oh how could I forget… comedy aren’t their main genres (but it’s hilarious when it’s being funny), but they’re THE BEST: Baccano!, Afterschool Charisma

  5. I’ll try not to repeat what’s already been said, but I’m pretty excited for this AniManga Mail since we mostly have the same interests!! Yay!!😄 (Shounen + Comedy FTW!!!)

    I’m not as well-versed with anime as I am with manga, but if there’s one anime that will not fail to crack you up I suggest Full Metal Panic Fumoffu – unlike the other FMP’s, the comedy is the main focus for this and it’s so so SO hilarious you won’t be able to stop laughing😄
    Working!! and Arakawa under the Bridge are really good too =D

    As for manga, I’d go for
    Angel Densetsu (which has some of the crappiest art you’ll ever come across, but DAMN it’s hilarious!),
    Eyeshield 21 (the characters are ridiculous, read the manga rather than watch the anime because it’s a LOT better),
    The World God Only Knows (a really different take on the harem scene, and it’s super hilarious)
    Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (delinquents!!),
    To-Love-Ru (Even without the ecchi, it’s really, really funny XD)
    Kekkaishi (it’s more action than comedy, but it’s one of my faves so I have to recommend this =D)

    Some other shounen I know that are quite good; MxO, Sankarea, Medaka Box, Barakamon, Hokenshitsu no Shinigami

    Oresama Sensei and NG Life are both shoujo manga, but they do have some shounen elements – and they are hilarious. Worth a read as well =D

    Lol okay this was a long list =P Hope you find something good!! =D

    • Too late, I already own the Fumoffu Complete Set DVD😀

      Didn’t watch Working! Or Arawaka. Shall add it to my plan to watch list.
      As for manga:
      Angel Densetsu: Will take a look
      Eyeshield 21: Read a 1/3 of it, watched the anime though^^
      TWGOK: Reading
      Yankee-Kun to Megane-Chan: Planned on reading it
      To-Love-Ru: Finished the first, read some of Darkness
      Kekkaishi: Another one I’m planning on reading

      Your others, starting from MxO: Haven’t read, haven’t read, did read though stopped a bit, never heard of it (sorry!), haven’t read it, read it, have not heard of it.

      Well, I’ll probably add the ones I haven’t looked at to the list.

      Finally, please for the love of god stop giving me grief over not watching those awesome Spring 2011 shows!!! I’ll watch them! Sometime😀😀😀

  6. Pingback: Taylor Swift Japan

  7. Keito

    I think you will probably like Sket Dance :))

  8. I recommend SKET Dance and Hayate The Combat Butler. Both are long-running ongoing manga that have an anime series.

    SKET Dance’s creator worked as an assistant on Gintama a few years ago. It is similar to Gintama in that there are three main characters who help anyone in need, only that in SKET Dance the main characters are high schoolers in present-day Japan.

Leave a Reply

