Anime Amped! Level E (レベルE)

Level E (レベルE)

In the present day, hundreds of extraterrestrial species walk the Earth. Some are pacifistic, others violent. Some are here for research purposes, others are career criminals. However, humans don’t know they are here. Now, one more alien has arrived on Earth. One of the universe’s foremost geniuses with a personality that’s bound to attract all sorts of trouble.

Genre: Comedy, Sci-fi, Shounen

Status: Currently airing, planned for 12 episodes

Directed by Kato Toshiyuki, produced by David Production and Studio Pierrot. Based on the manga by Togashi Yoshihiro.

Rated PG13 (violence & profanity)

arawr: Okay, I actually looked up the rating and some sites said R17 and others PG13. R17 seemed a bit over rated so I chose PG 13 instead. It’s mostly because of the profanities – the violence isn’t that gory.

———

Honestly speaking I watched the first episode of Level E since there didn’t seem to be anything else to watch. I had a ton of work and reading that required more motivation than I was capable of generating so I just sat down and watched it.

I had no idea what I was in for.

Before I went to watch it, I did a little background research. Found out it was adapted from a manga that was serialised some 16 years ago by the same manga-ka as Yu Yu Hakusho and Hunter x Hunter. The art looked rather serious. It’s part of the Winter 2011 anime. It had something to do with aliens. All in all, not really enough to convince me that it would be the type of work I would really enjoy – but I was desperate to not do work.

So I watched it.

My only regret was that I didn’t start watching it sooner.

Level E brings hilarity to the thermosphere and beyond. I don’t know if this has something to do with the fact that it was in 1995 and I don’t really know much about 1995 humour, but Level E continuously produces successive executions with its comedy. The characters are really what make this anime so funny, but they aren’t exactly un-stereotypical. I’ve encountered them before -characters that were moulded to be ‘funny’ – but they’ve hardly elicited a chuckle from me. In contrast, there is just something in the way everything is handled and executed in Level E that creates an undefeatable comical setup; it just throws itself in your face so suddenly and smoothly whether or not you’re expecting it that you end up laughing before you even realise it.

The first 3 episodes of Level E act as a sort of prologue. I find it simply ingenious on how everything was structured and played out. Every single noticeable cliché should have been there yet it wasn’t. The possibilities just kept spinning in my head and kept driving me down countless blind alleys – I kept thinking, this is too cliché to really be happening. But the cliché was that I thought it wasn’t cliché because it seemed clichéd, but in truth it really was clichéd and oh my GOD I just love how it all just slapped me back in the face >=D

From the 4th episode onward, the series is based upon the exploits of the main character, Baka Ki El Dogra. They are episodic, and some last for a single episode and others for more. The 4th episode deals with a more psychological theme and less of a humorous one, yet the quality did not diminish in any way – I still found in thoroughly enjoyable. I honestly nearly suffocated from laughing in the 5th, and barely made it out alive. The process repeats itself with the following episodes.

As for the music, I absolutely love the OP (Cold Finger Girl by Kuriyama Chiaki). It’s not just that the song is awesome by itself – it’s also the way the opening video just matches so perfectly with the music. The first few seconds of the electric guitar is just – socool. I found the ED (Yume~ Mugen no Kanata~ by ViVid) above average the first few times I heard it, but start to like it even more every time I listen to it again. The way the ED video starts just screams ‘NAILED IT!’ but the rest of it is just average lol.

Overall, Level E is something you just really have to watch if you need a laugh and don’t want to do your work. As much as I love it, with the exception of episode 4 I don’t see much focus on any other genre other than comedy. I’ll appreciate the fact that it’s not what everyone is looking for – even if I do find it a huge shame.

Still, though, honestly, really. Go watch Level E. It’s the sort of anime you just should not miss out on =D

-arawr >=3

Leave a comment

Filed under Anime Amped, Anime Related, Featured, Reviews

Leave a Reply

